Sep 27 - Oct 14, 2018

Asian Film Academy 2018

2013 Faculty

LEE Chang-dong
Lee Chang-dong's films have brought enormous success and critical acclaim. His first feature debut was with Green Fish(1997) and he tried to focus on storytelling and characters in the film. His second feature film Peppermint Candy(2000) opened the 4th Busan International Film Festival and it was invited to the Cannes's Directors' Fortnight. In 2007 Secret Sunshine(2007) has shown his remarkable directing and exceptional plots once again. The film not only won the award for the Special Director's Prize at the Asian Film Awards2008 but also won its lead actress Best Actress at the 60th Cannes film festival in 2007. Afterward, Lee sat as jury member for the 12th Busan International Film Festival's New Currents section awarding emerging film talents. His latest film Poetry(2010) won the Best Screenplay Award at the Cannes Film Festival 2010 and was invited in other prestigious film festivals including 35th Toronto International Film Festival, 48th New York Film Festival and 15th Busan International Film Festival. Lee also served as South engea's Minister of Culture and Tourism from 2003 to 2004. As the dean of this year's Asian Film Academy, Lee will share his experiences and unique styles fueled by powerful performances, exclusive narrative structure and strong social critique with young talented filmmakers.
OH Seok-geun
Oh Seok-geun is the director of the Busan Film Commission and has been the Deputy Dean of the Asian Film Academy since 2011. He is a graduate of engean Academy of Film Arts and made his feature film debut with As you please(1991) produced by Film Factory Seoul. Oh directed the 101st Proposition(1993) and attracted attention as one of the reputable engean filmmakers. From 1996 to 2000 he worked as a general manager of the Busan International Film Festival and contributed in developing Busan into city hosting the best film festival in Asia. Then he directed Love is a Crazy Thing(2005) and it was presented at the Udine Far East Film Festival, the Gothenburg Film Festival, the Bangkok International Film Festival and the Tokyo International Film Festival. Oh also produced the omnibus film Camellia(2010) with engean, Japanese, and Thai directors. The film was selected as the closing film at the Busan International Film Festival in 2010. As the incumbent Director of the Busan Film Commission, he focuses on establishing a solid foundation for a pan-Asian production network system and he has been dedicating himself to promote Busan as the hub of film industry. His extensive experience in directing and producing will present a new cinematic vision to AFA fellows.
Aditya Assarat studied film at the University of Southern California. In 2004, he was invited to participate in the Sundance Director's Lab and was honored as the first recipient of the Rolex Arts Initiative mentorship to work with director Mira Nair. In 2006 he started the company Pop Pictures to produce his debut feature Wonderful Town(2007). It won the New Currents Award at Busan and the Tiger Award at Rotterdam. It also won the 2008 National Subhanahongsa Award for Best Picture, the only time it has ever been given to an independent film. In 2010, he directed his second feature Hi-So(2010) which screened at Berlin and Busan. He also produced Eternity(2010) the debut feature of his assistant Sivaroj Kongsakul, which won the Tiger Award at Rotterdam in 2011 and 36(2012), the debut feature of Nawapol Thamrongrattanarit, which won the New Currents Award at Busan in 2012. Finally, Aditya was the recipient of the 2010 National Silpatorn Award given biennially to an individual for contribution to Thai Cinema. As the directing mentor of AFA 2013, Assarat will share the tips that will help fellows understand some of the complex fields of film and practical advices on set.
KURITA Toyomichi
Toyomichi Kurita has worked on music videos, commercials, documentaries, and feature films as a cinematographer both in the US and Japan over the last 30 years. The feature film titles that he is credited include Trouble in Mind(1985) by Alan Rudolph, for which he was awarded Best Cinematography by Independent Spirit Award, Waiting to Exhale(1995) by Forest Whitaker, Cookie's Fortune(1999) by Robert Altman, Gohatto(1999) by Nagisa Oshima, and Sukiyaki Western Django(2007) by Takashi Miike, for which he won Best Cinematogaphy Award at Sitges International Film Festival. Kurita earned a M.F.A in Cinematography from AFI. Kurita served as a professor at Graduate School of Film and New Media, Tokyo University of the Arts from 2005 to 2011. Kurita is a member of Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences. Kurita participated in AFA2007 as a cinematography mentor and again in AFA2013, he will share his professional know-how based on the extensive experience in cinematography.