Sep 27 - Oct 14, 2018

Asian Film Academy 2018

2016 Faculty

TSAI Ming Liang

  • Director/Taiwan
  • Dean

Tsai Ming Liang was born in Kuching, Malaysia. He studied film and drama at the Chinese Culture University. His film Vive L'Amour (1994) won the Golden Lion at Venice Film Festival in 1994, and he also won the Berlin Silver Bear for his film, The Wayward Cloud (2005) in 2005. In 2009, his 10th film, Face (2009) was selected for competition at Cannes. His films included The Hole (1998), Good Bye, Dragon Inn (2003), I Don't Want To Sleep Alone (2006), and Stray Dogs (2013). Director Tsai, who had also received an award called, The Asian Filmmaker of the Year in BIFF 2010, is flourishing as a moviemaker and as a true artist of the 21st century.


  • Director/ Sri Lanka
  • Directing Mentor

Vimukthi Jayasundara was selected in 2003 by the Cinefoundation of the Cannes Film Festival to participate in their residency program. His directorial debut, The Forsaken Land (2005) won the Camera d’or at Cannes in 2005. Between Two Worlds (2009), his second film, was selected for the International Competition at the Venice International Film Festival in 2009, while one of his other works Mushrooms (2011) was screened in the Quinzaine des Réalisateurs in Cannes in 2011.


  • Director of Cinematography/Poland
  • Cinematography Mentor

Bogumil Godfrejow was born in Cracow/Poland, and graduated Secondary Art School in Cracow and Polish National Film School. He is best known as the cinematographer of Director Hans Christian Schmid’s Distant Lights (2003), Requiem (2006), Storm (2009), and The Wondrous World of Laundry (2009).He was nominated for the European Film Award for Best Cinematographer in 2003 for Distant Light (2003), and furthermore, he was awarded the Bronze Camera 300 at the International Cinematographers’ Film Festival “Manaki Brothers”. Additionally, he was selected as a nominee for the New Zealand Film Awards Best Cinematography in a Feature Film in 2009 for The Strength of Water (2009).